Alachua and Newberry announce election results; Alachua runoff to be held May 4



The City of Alachua held an election on April 13 for two seats on the City Commission.

Incumbent Shirley Green Brown was the winner in the Seat 4 race, gaining 455 votes (51.3%) to Gregory E. Pelham, Sr.’s 431 votes (48.6%).

The Seat 5 race ended with no candidate gaining more than 50-percent of the votes, forcing a runoff election between Jennifer Blalock and Malcolm Vintron Dixon.

Blalock received 389 votes (44%), Dixon received 263 votes (29.7%), while Gary Kocher received 231 votes (26.1%).

The runoff between Blalock and Dixon will take place on May 4, 2021. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 4, 2021 at the Legacy Park Multipurpose Center, the Cleather Hathcock, Sr. Community Center and the Clubhouse at Turkey Creek.

Don't Miss a Post!


Tim Marden won the election with 487 votes; Joy Glanzer received 427 votes. The City announced that turnout was 17%.