Congressman Yoho announces that he will not run for re-election


Congressman Ted Yoho announced on Facebook today that he will not run for re-election in 2020. In his statement, he said, “It has been an amazing opportunity to be able to serve the best district in Florida – District 3. The people make it the best place and you are the reason it was such an honor to be your Representative in the United States Congress… Carolyn, my children and I want to thank all of our supports[sic] and constituents for this incredible journey.”

Yoho was elected in 2012 after unseating Republican Representative Cliff Stearns in the primary. At the time, he promised to limit himself to 4 terms in Congress, and today’s decision is the fulfillment of that promise.

There are currently four candidates for Yoho’s seat: Republicans Amy Pope Wells and Judson Sapp and Democrats Philip Dodds and Tom Wells. 

Donate to support our work!