Congresswoman Kat Cammack Announces Introduction Of Chinese Communist Party Politburo Accountability Act

Press release from Congresswoman Kat Cammack

Today, Congresswoman Kat Cammack (FL-03), in conjunction with the Republican Study Committee (RSC), introduced the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) Politburo Accountability Act.

The bill would impose sanctions on senior officials of the Chinese Communist Party, specifically four CCP leaders widely known to be responsible for the violations of human rights and freedoms of individuals living in Hong Kong, Macau, Tibet, and Xinjiang. Additionally, the bill would follow U.S. policy of sanctioning CCP officials who participate in or lead campaigns of disinformation and political warfare against the U.S., steal U.S. intellectual property, and commit severe human rights abuses against the people of China.

“For too long, the Chinese Communist Party has worked to violate the human rights of its own citizens, undermine basic freedoms, and spread anti-American propaganda worldwide,” said Rep. Cammack. “The CCP’s leadership has also been complicit in stealing U.S. intellectual property through Confucius Institutes here in the U.S. Just a few months ago, a CCP-linked researcher at the University of Florida in my district was indicted for committing fraud against the NIH in an attempt to steal U.S. intellectual property. This has to end.”

The four leaders specifically targeted by this bill include: Wu Yingjie, Communist Party Secretary of the Tibet Autonomous Region and member of the Politburo Standing Committee; Wang Yang, Chairman of the People’s Political Consultative Conference and leader of the Chinese government-backed Confucius Institute; Han Zheng, leader of the Central Leading Group on Hong Kong and Macau Affairs; and Xia Baolong, Director of the Hong Kong and Macau Affairs Office under the State Council.

The sanctions imposed by this bill are standard to those imposed on other individuals within China’s communist regime and include asset blocking and travel restrictions to the U.S. and a ban on doing business with U.S. companies.

The bill’s co-sponsors at the time of introduction include: Rep. Cammack, RSC Chairman Banks, and Reps. Babin, Cawthorn, Diaz-Balart, Franklin, Gimenez, Harshbarger, Hinson, McClain, Norman, A. Scott, Steube, Tenney, Tiffany, and Weber.