McPherson Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

Courtesy of UF Athletic Association

McPherson named among nation’s top collegiate place-kickers

Gators kicker Evan McPherson was named to the watch list for the 2020 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, the Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced Wednesday.

A semifinalist for the award in 2018, McPherson went 17-for-19 (89.5 percent) on field goals in both his freshman and sophomore campaigns, finishing the 2019 season ranked 10th nationally in field goal percentage while leading the Southeastern Conference. The Fort Payne, Alabama, native was also good on seven of eight attempts on field goals of 40 yards or longer in 2019.

After logging two consecutive 17-for-19 seasons, McPherson’s 89.5 percent accuracy rate is the highest in school history and the second-best career mark by an active FBS kicker with multiple seasons.

Twenty semifinalists will be announced on Thursday, Nov. 5. From that list, a panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists, and current NFL kickers will select the top three finalists for the award, which will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 24. The winner will be unveiled live on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 10, during The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The award, which is presented annually to the top collegiate place-kicker, is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns.

McPherson’s appearance on this year’s Lou Groza Award Watch List is his third in three years, and it marks the sixth time that a Gator is featured in a watch list this preseason. For a full list, please see below.

The 2020 Gators Preseason Watch List

Player – Watch List – Date

Kyle Trask – Davey O’Brien National QB Watch List – July 14

Kyle Pitts – Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List – July 16

Kyle Pitts – Mackey Award Watch List – July 17

Ventrell Miller – The Butkus Award Watch List – July 20

Kaiir Elam – Jim Thorpe Award Watch List – July 20

Evan McPherson – Lou Groza Award Watch List – July 22