Swearing-in Ceremony Scheduled for Gainesville City Commissioners

Press release from City of Gainesville

The swearing in of newly-reelected incumbent Gainesville City Commissioner Gail Johnson and Commissioner-elect Desmon Duncan-Walker is scheduled before the start of the next city commission meeting.

When: Noon Thursday, May 6
Where: On the steps of City Hall, 200 E. University Ave.

Immediately after the swearing-in, commissioners will elect the mayor-commissioner pro-tem, a member who is able to serve in the role of mayor when needed. Commissioner David Arreola currently serves as mayor-commissioner pro-tem.

The Honorable Gloria Walker of the Eighth Judicial Circuit will administer the oath of office to Commissioner Johnson, who was reelected by Gainesville voters in March to an at-large seat on the commission. The Honorable Walter Green, also of the Eighth Judicial Circuit, will administer the oath of office to Commissioner-elect Duncan-Walker who was elected by neighbors of District 1.

These commissioners each will serve 3.5 year terms until the fall of 2024. Beginning in 2022, Gainesville city commissioners will be elected to serve 4-year terms with elections every two years.

The event is open to public, and will be livestreamed on the City’s Facebook page. To help ensure public health and safety, attendees are asked to wear facial coverings and to practice social distancing at the event.