UF Baseball: SEC-Leading 18 Gators Featured on 60-Man MLB Rosters

Brady Singer is projected to crack Kansas City’s starting rotation this season.
Photo by Tim Casey

Courtesy of UF Athletic Association

A Southeastern Conference-leading 18 players with Gators ties are featured on Major League Baseball’s 60-man rosters.

The group includes 2019 National League Rookie of the Year Pete Alonso, who broke the New York Mets’ franchise and MLB Rookie records with 53 home runs last season. Another four Gators on 60-man rosters helped their teams into the playoffs last year: Harrison Bader (St. Louis Cardinals), Darren O’Day (Atlanta Braves), A.J. Puk (Oakland A’s), and Mike Zunino (Tampa Bay Rays).

Recent first-round picks Alex Faedo (No. 18 overall in 2017, Detroit Tigers), Jonathan India (No. 5 overall in 2018, Cincinnati Reds), Jackson Kowar (No. 33 overall in 2018, Kansas City Royals), and Brady Singer (No. 18 overall in 2018, Kansas City Royals) also earned spots on 60-man rosters with their respective organizations.

A recent MLB.com story projected Singer as a member of the Royals’ pitching rotation this season. The same story also projected A.J. Puk, the No. 6 overall pick in the 2016 MLB Draft who made his major league debut last year with 10 bullpen appearances, as part of the Oakland A’s five-man starting rotation. And 2011 sixth-rounder Anthony DeSclafani is once again projected to be among Cincinnati’s starting rotation following a season which saw him post a 3.89 earned run average across 31 starts.

In a separate MLB.com story, Faedo was listed as one of the “10 Tigers Players to Watch in Summer Camp.”

According to Mark Feinsand, MLB.com’s executive reporter, rosters will be cut to 30 players by Opening Day (currently scheduled July 23 or 24), then reduced to 28 players after two weeks and 26 players after four weeks.

Below is the full list of Gators who earned 60-man roster spots.

Gator – Team

Pete Alonso – New York Mets

Shaun Anderson – San Francisco

Harrison Bader – St. Louis

Anthony DeSclafani – Cincinnati

Dane Dunning – Chicago White Sox

Alex Faedo – Detroit

Eric Hanhold – Baltimore

Jonathan India – Cincinnati

Brian Johnson – Boston

Jackson Kowar – Kansas City

Richie Martin – Baltimore

Scott Moss – Cleveland

Darren O’Day – Atlanta

A.J. Puk – Oakland

Buddy Reed – Oakland

Justin Shafer – Cincinnati

Brady Singer – Kansas City

Mike Zunino – Tampa Bay