UF Football: Jeremiah Moon Named Semifinalist for William V. Campbell Trophy

Courtesy of University Athletic Association

Florida’s Jeremiah Moon was announced as a semifinalist for the 2020 William V. Campbell Trophy on Thursday, an award that is annually bestowed by the National Football Foundation to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete.

The redshirt-senior linebacker is majoring in telecommunication and has been named to the Southeastern Conference’s Academic Honor Roll twice. Moon has also logged 13.5 hours of community service working with Habitat for Humanity and Night to Shine.

Moon has played in 34 games, starting in 17, for the Gators throughout his time in Gainesville. The Hoover, Ala. native has made 87 tackles with five sacks and was named SEC Defensive Player of the Week in 2019 against Towson.

Moon would join Brad Culpepper (1991), Danny Wuerffel (1996) and Tim Tebow (2009) as past Florida student-athletes to win the award. The most recent winner of the award was Oregon’s Justin Herbert.

The William V. Campbell Trophy

Celebrating its 31st year, the award recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. The NFF will announce 12-to-14 finalists in November, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2020 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. Later this year, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 31st Campbell Trophy(r) Presented by Mazda, having his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000 and receiving his own 25-pound-bronze version of the iconic statue.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.