UF Football: Johnson Named Semifinalist for Broyles Award

Courtesy of University Athletic Association


Gators offensive coordinator one of 15 semifinalists

Florida’s offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Brian Johnson was named one of 15 semifinalists for the Broyles Award, the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced on Tuesday.

The Broyles Award honors college football’s best assistant coach each year.

The Gators boast the No. 1 passing offense in the country, averaging 386.4 yards per game through the air along with the No. 7 passing efficiency (185.4) in the FBS.

In terms of total offense, Florida is No. 8 in the nation, averaging 513.5 yards per game while also averaging 41.2 points per game, which is No. 12 in the country.

The Gators currently have eight consecutive games of 400-plus total yards for the first time since at least 1981. It is also the first time since at least 1981 that Florida has such a streak against Southeastern Conference teams.

UF also has nine games of 400-plus total yards in a season for the 12th time since 1990 and first time since 2008, when it logged 10 such outings.

A selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the Football Writers Association of America narrowed the list of nominees to 15 semifinalists. Five finalists will be selected from the list of semifinalists, then an overall winner.

2020 Broyles Award Semifinalists
FLORIDA, Brian Johnson, Offensive Coordinator / QB
ALABAMA, Steve Sarkisian, Offensive Coordinator / QB
BYU, Jeff Grimes, Offensive Coordinator
CINCINNATI, Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator / LB
COASTAL CAROLINA, Chad Staggs, Defensive Coordinator / LB
INDIANA, Kane Wommack, Defensive Coordinator / LB
IOWA, Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator / Secondaries
IOWA STATE, Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator / TE
MIAMI, Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator / QB
NORTH CAROLINA, Phil Longo, Offensive Coordinator / QB / TE
NORTHWESTERN, Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
NOTRE DAME, Clark Lea, Defensive Coordinator / LB
OHIO STATE, Brian Hartline, Wide Receivers
OLE MISS, Jeff Lebby, Offensive Coordinator / QB
TEXAS A&M, Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator / S