UF Football: Toney and Trask Recognized for Big Performances Against Missouri

Courtesy of University Athletic Association

Gators duo earns three honors after leading the way against the Tigers

After a dominant 41-17 win over Missouri last Saturday in The Swamp, Kadarius Toney and Kyle Trask were recognized by various organizations for their performances that helped lead Florida to an important victory over the Tigers.

Toney was named to the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll after scoring three touchdowns (two receiving, one rushing) and racking up 60 yards receiving on four receptions and 23 yards rushing on three carries.

Toney became the fourth Gators player under Mullen with three scrimmage touchdowns in a game, joining Kyle Pitts (four receiving at Ole Miss on Sept. 26), Emory Jones (three rushing against Vanderbilt on Nov. 9, 2019), and Lamical Perine (two rushing, one receiving in 2019 Orange Bowl).

Toney and Chad Jackson are the only Gators since the start of 1996 with at least two receiving touchdowns and one rushing touchdown in a game. Jackson had four receiving touchdowns and a rushing touchdown against Wyoming back on Sept. 3, 2005.

Trask earned a spot on the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award’s Great 8 list for week nine of the college football season as well as an honorable mention designation from the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

The redshirt senior went 21-of-36 for 345 yards passing and four touchdowns, adding 47 yards rushing as well.

Trask’s 18 touchdown passes through the first four games this season set a Southeastern Conference record for the most passing touchdowns through the first four games of a season.

With his four touchdown passes, Trask became the first quarterback in school history to throw at least four touchdown passes in four consecutive games.

Post-Missouri Honors
Kadarius Toney – Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll
Kyle Trask – Davey O’Brien Award Great 8 List
Kyle Trask – Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Honorable Mention

Both Toney and Trask were already named to these respective awards’ preseason watch lists.

Fans can vote for Toney to win the Paul Hornung Award here as the public serves as the 18th and final vote along with 17 committee members.

Florida plays Georgia on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. ET on CBS.