UF Football: Trask Named Finalist for 2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Courtesy of University Athletic Association


Gators quarterback earns spot among nation’s elite

Florida’s Kyle Trask was named one of three finalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award on Tuesday.

Trask would be the third Gator to win the award, following Danny Wuerffel (1995, 1996) and Tim Tebow (2007).

Trask leads the FBS this season in total touchdowns (46), touchdown passes (43), passing yards (4,125), and passing yards per game (375).

Trask’s three touchdown passes against Alabama made him the ninth player in FBS history to throw at least 43 touchdown passes through the first 11 games of a season. Of those nine, Trask is one of three to accomplish the feat with fewer than 50 attempts per game.

Trask is one of 29 FBS quarterbacks since 1996 to log five 400-yard passing games in a season and is the only SEC quarterback to accomplish the feat within that span.

Trask is joined by Alabama’s Mac Jones and Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence as finalists.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, first issued in 1981, is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious quarterback award. The Foundation’s national selection committee is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators, and former winners.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote instituted a change to its format in 2020, as fans voted for their favorite quarterback’s post from the Davey O’Brien official accounts via three social media platforms—Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

The top five vote getters on those platforms each received bonus committee member votes. The bonus vote recipients and their vote totals: Notre Dame’s Ian Book (6.5), Trask (5.5), Coast Carolina’s Grayson McCall (3), Jones (2.5), Ole Miss’ Matt Corral (1.5), Cincinnati’s Desmond Ridder (1.5), Oklahoma’s Spencer Rattler (1), and UCF’s Dillon Gabriel (1).

The next step in the process will be to select the award’s winner from the three finalist quarterbacks.

Final round fan voting is now open and will close on Wednesday, Dec. 30. National selection committee voting will take place through Dec. 30.

The winner is to be announced live on Jan. 7 on the 30th annual The Home Depot College Football Awards, which will be held virtually from 7-8:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.