UF Football: Trask Named Finalist for 2020 Senior CLASS Award

Courtesy of University Athletic Association


Gators quarterback one of 10 finalists

Florida’s Kyle Trask was named one of 10 finalists for the 2020 Senior CLASS Award, the Senior CLASS Award announced on Friday.

Tim Tebow won the Senior CLASS Award in 2009, while Johnny Townsend was named to the Senior CLASS Award Second Team in 2017. Trask joins Tebow and Townsend as the only three finalists from the Florida football program since the award began recognizing football student-athletes in 2008.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character, and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through Monday, December 21.

Link to vote

Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in late December.

2020 Senior CLASS Award Football Finalists
Kyle Trask, University of Florida
Ian Book, University of Notre Dame
Shane Buechele, Southern Methodist University
Greg Eisworth, Iowa State University
Robert Hainsey, University of Notre Dame
Tarron Jackson, Coastal Carolina University
Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State University
Kwity Paye, University of Michigan
Chazz Surratt, University of North Carolina
Brady White, University of Memphis