UF Football: Trask Named Finalist for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Courtesy of University Athletic Association


Gators quarterback continues to bring in recognition for record-breaking season

Florida’s Kyle Trask was named one of five finalists for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award on Wednesday.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically, tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year Division I Texas college.

Trask has thrown for 4,125 yards and 43 touchdowns this season as he has led one of the most explosive offenses in the country.

The Manvel, Texas native leads the FBS this season in total touchdowns (46), touchdown passes, passing yards, and passing yards per game (375). His passer rating of 186.65 is No. 5 in the nation.

Trask’s three touchdown passes against Alabama in the Southeastern Conference Championship Game made him the ninth player in FBS history to throw at least 43 touchdown passes through the first 11 games of a season. Of those nine, Trask is one of three to accomplish the feat with fewer than 50 attempts per game.

The redshirt senior is one of 29 FBS quarterbacks since 1996 to log five 400-yard passing games in a season and is the only SEC quarterback to accomplish the feat within that span.

Trask is responsible for 46 touchdowns (43 passing, 3 rushing), which is second on UF’s single season record list to Tim Tebow’s 55 (32 pass, 23 rush) from his 2007 Heisman-winning campaign.

His 46 touchdowns are also tied with Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel (2013) for sixth on the SEC single-season record list.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Finalists
Kyle Trask, Florida
Jaelon Darden, North Texas
D’Eriq King, Miami
Sincere McCormick, UTSA
Kellen Mond, Texas A&M

The winner will be announced at a virtual award banquet in Tyler, Texas in late January of 2021.