UF Football: Trask Named Finalist for Two More Awards, Semifinalist for One

Courtesy of University Athletic Association


Gators quarterback continues to be recognized for record-breaking season

Florida’s Kyle Trask was named a finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Manning Award, while also being named a semifinalist for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

Through 10 games this season, Trask has thrown for 40 touchdowns and 3,717 yards along with two rushing touchdowns. The redshirt-senior leads the FBS in both passing yards and passing touchdowns as he continues his record-breaking season.

Trask is responsible for 42 touchdowns this season, which ranks tied for second on the school’s single-season record list. Tim Tebow’s 55 (32 passing, 23 rushing) in 2007 is the school record.

Don't Miss a Post!

Trask is also the first player in SEC history and only FBS quarterback in the last 15 seasons to throw at least three touchdown passes in nine consecutive games.

Golden Arm Award Info
The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award is presented annually to the season’s top upperclassman quarterback set to graduate with their class by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Selection Committee. Candidates are chosen based on player performance on and off the field – the award values character, citizenship, integrity and those who honor the game.

The Golden Arm Award winner is scheduled to be announced on Dec. 21.

Manning Award Info
Prior to the 2004 college football season, the Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton, and Eli Manning. It is the only college football quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting; therefore, it is presented annually following the completion of the bowl season.

The Manning Award winner is scheduled to be announced after the completion of the FBS season.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Info
The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.
In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year Division I Texas college.

Fan Vote for the semifinalists round began at noon on Thursday through Dec. 21 at 5 p.m. CT.  Visit this page and vote once daily for your favorite.

Finalists for the award are scheduled to be announced on Dec. 23.