UF Lacrosse: Five Gators Earn IWLCA All-Region Honors

Photo by Tim Casey

Courtesy of University Athletic Association


Shannon Kavanagh and Cara Trombetta tabbed as First Team honorees; Kaitlyn Dabkowski, Grace Haus, and Sarah Reznick named to Second Team

Five members of the Florida lacrosse team added to their postseason resumes as the IWLCA All-Region teams were announced on Wednesday. Those five will now be eligible to be named to a national IWLCA All-American team.

Florida’s All-South Regional First Team selections consisted of Shannon Kavanagh and Cara Trombetta.

Kaitlyn Dabkowski, Grace Haus, and Sarah Reznick were named to the All-South Region Second Team.

This was the third All-Region selection for both Kavanagh and Trombetta. Kavanagh was named to the First Team in 2019 and Second Team in 2018, while Trombetta has two prior First Team honors under her belt (2018, 2019).

This is the first IWLCA All-Region honor for Dabkowski, Haus, and Reznick.

The Gators finished the 2021 regular season with a 16-2 record, going undefeated in American Athletic Conference play (10-0). The team swept both the regular season championship (10th-straight) and tournament championship (seventh-straight). UF is set to play in its first NCAA Quarterfinal since the 2018 season, facing the No. 3 seed Syracuse on Saturday at 2 p.m.

Florida’s five All-South nominees will now await IWLCA All-American selections at the beginning of June.