UF Lacrosse: Three Gators Earn ILWomen Media All-America Honors

Courtesy of UF Athletic Association

Shannon Kavanagh, Cara Trombetta led the way on the First Team

Three members of the Florida lacrosse team racked up ILWomen Media All-America honors, the organization announced on Tuesday morning.

Shannon Kavanagh and Cara Trombetta were named to the All-America First Team, while Brianna Harris found herself on the All-America Third Team.

This is Trombetta’s fourth honor – during the inaugural vote in 2017, she was named Honorable Mention, while in 2018 she garnered First Team honors. A season ago, the Holbrook, N.Y. native earned a spot on the Second Team.

Kavanagh picked up her second honor, having earned Third Team accolades during the 2019 season.

Don't Miss a Post!

This is the first ILWomen All-America honor of Harris’ career.

In the shortened 2020 season, the Gators went 6-2 overall. Those six wins included four victories against Top-25 opponents (No. 1 Maryland, No. 3 Stony Brook, No. 18 Colorado and No. 19 Navy). Florida defeated No. 1 Maryland for the first time in program history on Feb. 15, snapping the Terps 86-game home win streak – dating back to 2012. It was also the first win for Florida over the top-ranked team since May 5, 2012 (Northwestern, 14-7).

This is the fourth round of ILWomen contributors and members of the lacrosse media who are tasked with choosing the 2020 season’s top 12 attackers, nine midfielders, 12 defenders, top three draw specialists and top three goalies. Honorable mention selections are chosen based on players who received multiple votes, but did not accrue the totals of first, second, or third honorees.