UF Men’s Basketball: Chris Richard Named to 2020 SEC Legends Class

Courtesy of UF Athletic Association

Two-time NCAA champion Chris Richard will be honored as the Florida Gators’ SEC Men’s Basketball Legend at next week’s SEC Tournament in Nashville. In addition to the 2006 and 2007 national championships, Richard helped Florida to three straight SEC Tournament titles from 2005-07 and the 2007 regular season title, picking up SEC Sixth Man of the Year honors in 2007, as well.

In addition to playing an integral part in the Gators’ historic back-to-back national championship teams, Richard ranks among Florida’s top 10 in all-time games played (141) and posted two of the three best field goal percentage seasons in program history, shooting .698 in 2005-06 and .690 in 2006-07.

During Florida’s 2007 NCAA Tournament run, Richard shot .846 from the field, including a 16-point Final Four game vs. UCLA, going 7-for-7 from the floor. Richard finished his career with 697 points and 445 rebounds and left a winning legacy that goes far beyond any individual stats or accolades.

Richard came to the Gators from Lakeland Kathleen as Florida’s Mr. Basketball in 2003 and departed as the No. 41 overall pick in the 2007 NBA Draft (Minnesota), one of five Gators selected that season.

2020 SEC Men’s Basketball Legends
ALABAMA – Jerry Harper, 1953-56
ARKANSAS – Derek Hood, 1996-99
AUBURN – Layton Johns, 1960-63
FLORIDA – Chris Richard, 2003-07
GEORGIA – Rod Cole, 1987-91
KENTUCKY – Vernon Hatton, 1956-58
LSU – Collis Temple III, 1999-2003
OLE MISS – Eric Laird, 1982-85
MISSISSIPPI STATE – Jerry Jenkins, 1973-75
MISSOURI – Steve Stipanovich, 1979-83
SOUTH CAROLINA – Tre’ Kelley, 2003-07
TENNESSEE – Lang Wiseman, 1989-93
TEXAS A&M – David Britton, 1978-1980
VANDERBILT – Butch Feher, 1973-76

Florida’s SEC Men’s Basketball Legends Honorees
1999: Tony Miller
2000: Neal Walk
2001: Andy Owens
2002: Chip Williams
2003: Gary Keller
2004: Gene Shy
2005: Stacey Poole
2006: Andrew Moten
2007: Andrew DeClercq
2008: Dan Cross
2009: Eugene McDowell
2010: Bob Emrick
2011: Craig Brown
2012: Mike Miller
2013: Bill Koss
2014: Greg Stolt
2015: Eddie Shannon
2016: Lee Humphrey
2017: Matt Bonner
2018: David Lee
2019: Livingston Chatman
2020: Chris Richard