UF Men’s Swimming & Diving: 17 Gators Earn SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll Status

Courtesy of UF Athletic Association

The 2020 SEC Champion Gators put 17 on the SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll.

Seventeen University of Florida men’s swimmers and divers received recognition on the 2019-20 Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll, the league announced on Thursday.

The 2019-20 Winter SEC Academic Honor Roll includes basketball, equestrian, gymnastics, and swimming and diving and is based on grades from the 2019 spring, summer and fall terms.

Florida ups its number of honorees from last season; 16 Gators received the honor in 2018-19.

To be recognized to the SEC Academic Honor Roll, each student-athlete must 1) have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship, a letterwinner, or have participated on a varsity team for two years if non-scholarship; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

The Gators finished the 2019-20 campaign by accomplishing their ultimate goal of winning their eighth-straight and 41st-overall SEC Championship on Feb. 18-22. Over the five days of competition in Auburn, Florida accumulated 1,194 points with 15 medals and five event titles.

Jake Adcock – Advertising

Matthew Anderson – Anthropology

Khader Baqlah – Industrial & Systems Engineering

Chandler Bray – Communication Sciences & Disorders

Jorge Depassier – Economics

Alex Farrow – Sport Management

Robert Finke – Economics

Trey Freeman – Sport Management

Nick Hackett – Economics

Dillon Hillis – Telecommunication

Nick Lydon – Applied Physiology & Kinesiology

Santiago Morales – Finance

Tyler Silver – Business Administration

Kieran Smith – Applied Physiology & Kinesiology

Jack Szaranek – Psychology

Michael Taylor – Building Construction

Viktor Toth – Advertising