UF Women’s Swimming and Diving: Nine Gators Earn SEC Postseason Honors to Cap 2019-20 Season

Courtesy of UF Athletic Association

Seven women’s swimmers and divers earned All-SEC Second-Team honors, while placing a pair on the All-Freshman team.

Nine University of Florida women’s swimmers and divers earned Southeastern Conference postseason honors as the league office announced their annual awards to cap the 2019-20 season.

The Gators, who placed seven on the Second Team and a pair on the All-Freshman team, tallied nine total postseason honors for the second-straight season after a runner-up finish at the 2020 SEC Championships, registering 1,079.5 points and seven medals over five days of competition.

Emma Ball, Leah Braswell, Sherridon Dressel, Bella Garofalo, Vanessa Pearl, Elizabeth Perez, and Emma Whitner all landed on the All-SEC Second Team after posting a second or third-place finish at SEC’s.

For Ball, Braswell, Dressel, Garofalo, and Pearl, this marks back-to-back postseason SEC honors after earning All-SEC recognition last season.

Don't Miss a Post!

Perez and Whitner reel in their first career postseason conference accolade after posting the first podium finish of their careers at the conference meet.

1,650 Free

Leah Braswell

100 Fly

Sherridon Dressel

100 Back

Sherridon Dressel

400 IM

Vanessa Pearl


Elizabeth Perez


Emma Whitner

200 Medley Relay

Sherridon Dressel, Emma Ball, Bella Garofalo, Vanessa Pearl

Kathleen Golding and Allie Piccirillo were named to the All-Freshman team after placing top-eight or finishing as the highest scoring freshman in their respective event.

In their first SEC Championship experience, Golding posted a seventh-place finish in the 400 IM, while Piccirillo was the top freshman finisher in the 200 fly, tallying 16 points with her 11th-place finish.