UF Women’s Swimming and Diving: Zavaros Named to 2020 SEC Swimming and Diving Community Service Team

Rosie Zavaros posted seven wins over the course of her sophomore season.
Photo by: Courtney Culbreath

Press release from UF Athletic Association

Sophomore Rosie Zavaros was named to the 2020 Southeastern Conference Swimming and Diving Community Service Team, as the league announced the teams on Tuesday morning.

The SEC Community Service Teams annually aim to honor student-athletes at each conference school for their contributions in their respective communities.

Over the course of her sophomore season, the Burlington, Ontario, Canada native volunteered a team-leading 33.5 hours of her time to various community service activities around the Gainesville area.

Zavaros spent the majority of her hours at Hailes Angel Pet Rescue, an animal rescue facility in Gainesville, partaking in various day-to-day responsibilities at the facility.

Additionally, she has served as a mentor to K-5 students at the JJ Finley Elementary School in Gainesville. She participated in classroom visits and engaged and interacted with the students on the topics of reading comprehension and healthy decision-making.

Don't Miss a Post!

Zavaros also helped out at a pair of local events in the Gainesville area. At the Xtraordinary Foosball, she helped referee the competition, passed out waters, and organized the event registration. Her last volunteer opportunity was at the Trinity United Methodist Church Fall Festival, an event for families to take their children trick-or-treating.

This season, Zavaros won a total of seven events (six individual and one relay) and posted top-three team efforts in the 50 back and 200 back. She would go on to register lifetime-bests in the 200 and 400 IM at the Georgia Tech Invitational.

Full List:

Natalie Donkle- Alabama
Sarah Dalton- Arkansas
Jessica Merrit- Auburn
Rosie Zavaros- Florida
Jourdan Stout- Georgia
Sarah Loheide- Kentucky
Alexandria Ham- LSU
Azra Avfic- Missouri
Megan Jones- South Carolina
Stanzi Moseley- Tennessee
Sam Siebenaller- Texas A&M
Paige Hamilton- Vanderbilt