UF Women’s Swimming & Diving: Porter Shatters 100 Breast School Record on Second Night of Auburn Fall Invitational

Freshman Cecilia Porter broke the 100 breast school record by .33 seconds on Thursday night.

Courtesy of University Athletic Association


Florida holds a 347-291 lead after two days at the Auburn Fall Invitational

Freshman Cecilia Porter shattered the 100 breast school record by .33 seconds during Thursday night’s championship session at the Auburn Fall Invitational. Florida currently holds a 347-291 lead through 28 events in Auburn.

After swimming the fourth-fastest time by a Gator in the prelims (1:00.02), Porter came back and recorded a time of 59.22 to produce the fastest time ever recorded by a Gator. The previous 100 breast record has been held for seven years by Hilida Luthersdottir, who posted a swim of 59.55 in 2013. The Signal Mountain, Tenn. native’s swim also is the fastest time in the nation up to this point of the season.

Talia Bates continued her hot streak in Auburn, posting her second top-10 program swim of the competition with her winning 100 back effort, as well as posting a new 200 free lifetime-best.

Bates (53.03) now owns the seventh-fastest 100 back swim in Florida history and the top 200 free time in the nation, as the sophomore won the championship with a swim of 1:45.29. The new top time is the fastest in the nation by .69 seconds coming into the night.

Vanessa Pearl has now swept the individual medley events at the invite after posting the top 400 IM time of 4:10.69. She took her the 200 IM last night by over two seconds.

Elizabeth Perez controlled the 1-meter, winning the lone diving event on Thursday with the top score in both the prelim (236.55) and final (251.63). Lauren Snider posted fifth-place finishes in the event to conclude Florida’s diving efforts.

Gator Splashes

  *   Kathleen Golding shaved 2.77 seconds off her prelim time to reel in a second-place finish behind Pearl in the 400 IM with a time of 4:12.39, a B-cut. Madison Kolessar also touched in a B-cut time, claiming fifth-place with her swim of 4:15.57. Finishing in seventh-place in a swim of 4:19.20 was Rosie Zavaros to conclude Florida in the event.
  *   Katie Mack claimed a second-place finish behind Bates in a Florida-packed 200 free with her top time for a Gator, touching in 1:46.23. Nikki Miller secured her first B-cut in the event with her effort of 1:47.11. Annette Schultz (1:47.53), Leah Braswell (1:47.80), Elise Bauer (1:47.88), and Taylor Ault (1:48.10) claimed the fifth through eighth spots.
  *   A 100 back B-cut was secured by Lain Shahboz in the 100 back with her third-place effort of 53.89. Mack touched right behind her in fourth with an effort of 54.59, while Schultz, Guzman and Zavaros claimed the final three spots in the championship heat.
  *   A pair of freshmen led Florida in the 100 fly top heat. Kenady Beil ended a top-three finish with her effort of 54.06, while Amanda Ray finished behind her classmate in fourth after touching in 54.06. The third Gator in the heat finished in eighth, as Celi Guzman touched in 55.88. The pair of Tylor Mathieu and Pearl were the final Gators to race, with Porter in the 100 breast and Mathieu posting the next best finish in fourth (1:01.61). Pearl claimed seventh-place in a time of 1:02.70.
  *   In the consolation of the 400 IM, the trio of Allie Piccirillo, Ellie Hatton, and Leah Degeorge all posted better times than their efforts in the morning session. Piccirillo led the way after improving by 2.31 with a swim of 4:18.17. Her swim finished as the seventh-fastest in both heats. Hatton (4:30.84) and Degeorge (4:32.04) finished after each other in fifth and sixth-place.
  *   Piccirillo again posted a runner-up bid in the consolation final, this time with a time of 55.70 in the 100 fly. Her time was good for ninth overall. Liz Watts (55.70) and Chade Nersicio (56.92) both joined her with better times than their prelim seed.
  *   Bettina Boszormenyi led the way in the 200 free consolation heat with her runner-up bid, finishing in 1:49.16. The final four Gators all touched faster than their prelim swim, led by Gabby Hillis in third-place with a time of 1:49.27. Kirschtine Balbuena (1:49.90), Ria Malhotra and Degeorge finished in fifth, sixth, and seventh, respectively.
  *   Adrianna DeBoer (1:02.13) and Carly Schwab (1:02.77) rounded out the top three finishers in the 100 breast consolation with their second- and third-place finishes. Ellie Zweifel and Ellie Hatton finished in fourth and fifth.
  *   Balbuena won the 100 back consolation heat with her top time of 55.11, the seventh-fastest time in both heats. Boszormenyi touched in fourth with an effort of 56.26.

Relay Magic

Auburn took the first event of the night, the 200 medley relay. Florida posted the second- and third-fastest combined swims, highlighted by a swim of 1:38.09 by the relay of Bates, Porter, Beil, and Mack. Shahboz, Adrianna DeBoer, Ray, and Hillis hit behind them in a time of 1:40.84. Florida’s C relay was disqualified.

Florida’s 800 free relay of Mathieu, Braswell, Ault, and Mack won the final event of the night, as the B relay combined for the top time of 7:09.51. Braswell led the group with a 200 free split of 1:46.56.

UF also posted the third and fourth-fastest relay to end Thursday competition.