School district names new administrators, principals

Release from Alachua County Public Schools

ALACHUA COUNTY, Fla. – Alachua County Public Schools (ACPS) has announced that eight schools will have new principals for the upcoming year, effective July 1:

  • Alachua Elementary (Holly Burton)
  • Shell Elementary (Edward Haukland)
  • Terwilliger Elementary (Heather Harbour)
  • Lincoln Middle School (John Green)
  • Gainesville High School (Daniel Ferguson)
  • Hawthorne Middle/High School (Dr. Buddy Kamman)
  • A. Quinn Jones (Bonnie Bing)
  • Alachua eSchool (Jesely Alvarez)

Dr. Dakeyan Graham has also been hired as Equity Director for the district, and Jacquatte Rolle and Diane Leinenbach have been appointed as school improvement principals.

    • I wonder how many reading tutors we could pay with the money now consumed by a few of these non-instructional lines. It seems having more boots on the ground in the minority schools would be a better focus for our equity efforts than yet another administrative desk. Nothing says equity more than a little kid from the ‘wrong’ side of town who has a real opportunity for a future because they can read.

  • >